What book is Medusa in Metamorphoses?

What book is Medusa in Metamorphoses?

The most influential, canonical account of the Medusa myth comes from Ovid’s Metamorphoses (4.604–5.263), which tells us that Medusa was a beautiful young woman, known for her lovely hair.

How many books make up Ovid Metamorphoses?

Metamorphoses, poem in 15 books, written in Latin about 8 ce by Ovid. It is written in hexameter verse. The work is a collection of mythological and legendary stories, many taken from Greek sources, in which transformation (metamorphosis) plays a role, however minor.

What does Ovid say Metamorphoses mean?

The Metamorphoses (Latin: Metamorphōsēs, from Ancient Greek: μεταμορφώσεις: “Transformations”) is an 8 AD Latin narrative poem by the Roman poet Ovid, considered his magnum opus.

Is Ovid Metamorphoses easy to read?

It’s a very easy book to enjoy. Yes, there are some obscure things in it, but a lot of that stuff was obscure even when it was written. Ovid sought out the weirdest versions of the stories he could.

What happens at the end of Pyramus and Thisbe?

Pyramus, believing that she had been devoured by the lioness, stabbed himself. When Thisbe returned and found her lover mortally wounded under the mulberry tree, she put an end to her own life.

Why did Medusa become a Gorgon?

According to Apollodorus’ version of the myth, Athena was angry with Medusa because she had claimed to be more beautiful than the goddess. In both cases, however, the result was the same. In the end, Athena turned Medusa into a figure of horror, a Gorgon with venomous snakes instead of hair.

What stories are in Metamorphoses?


  • BOOK 1. Creation. Four Ages of Man. Lycaon.
  • BOOK 2. Phaethon. Callisto & Jupiter.
  • BOOK 3. Cadmus & the Dragon. Actaeon.
  • BOOK 4. The Minyades. Pyramus & Thisbe.
  • BOOK 5. Perseus & Phineus. Pyreneus & the Muses.
  • BOOK 6. Arachne & Minerva. Niobe.
  • BOOK 7. Jason & Medea. Medea & Aeson.
  • BOOK 8. Minos & Scylla. Daedalus & Icarus.

How long is Ovid’s Metamorphoses?

The Metamorphoses is a long poem in 15 books written in hexameter verse and totaling nearly 12,000 lines. It is a collection of mythological and legendary stories in which metamorphosis (transformation) plays some part, however minor.

What are the four major divisions to the Metamorphoses?

Even with its complex narrative structure, modern scholars see four major divisions to Metamorphoses: “Divine Comedy” or “Gods in Love,” books 1-2; “Avenging Gods,” books 3-6 (to line 400); “Pathos of Love” the rest of book 6-11; and “History of Rome and the Deified Caesar,” books 12-15.

How does Ovid’s Metamorphoses end?

Ovid’s Metamorphoses 15th and final book ends with Caesar’s apotheosis.

What kind of poem is Metamorphoses?

“Metamorphoses” is often called a mock-epic, as it is written in dactylic hexameter (the form of the great epic poems of the ancient tradition, such as “The Iliad”, “The Odyssey” and “The Aeneid”), unlike Ovid’s other works.

Is Ovid a feminist?

Including representation of female pastimes, allowing women to narrate, and giving silenced women voices are all feminist examples, but Ovid’s depiction of women in male roles or being stronger than men is where he truly supports women.

Why is Ovid’s Metamorphoses controversial?

In the poem there is an unprecedented prevalence of rape stories. The Metamorphoses is essentially an encyclopaedia of Greek and Roman myth. Ovid includes stories of rape to be faithful to these traditional myths. It is not his inclusion of these stories which triggers interest, but the way in which he treats them.

Related Post