Is Virginia doing away with state inspections?
Gov. Ralph Northam is proposing eliminating a requirement that all vehicles undergo an annual safety inspection. Virginia’s vehicle safety inspections may not become a thing of the past, but they may get less frequent.
How Much Does VA state inspection cost?
Fast and Friendly Yearly State Inspections. Please note: Effective July 1, 2019 the new fee for the Virginia State inspection will increase from $16.00 to $20.00. Gov. Ralph Northam signed HB 2514, which increases vehicle inspection costs from $16 to $20.
What is checked for VA state inspection?
Here are all the things you can expect us to inspect during your Virginia Vehicle Inspection:
- Parking brake.
- Vehicle lights.
- Signal devices.
- Steering and suspension.
- Tires, wheels and rims.
How do I get a Virginia state inspection sticker?
Obtain a Vehicle Safety Inspection Sticker
For information about safety inspections, or to find safety inspection stations near you, contact the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or (804) 674-6774.
Can you get pulled over for expired inspection stickers VA 2022?
No law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired vehicle inspection sticker until the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date.
How old does a car have to be to not need inspection in VA?
25 years or older
Nearly Every Vehicle Needs an Inspection Each Year
Antique vehicles that are 25 years or older and registered as an antique with the DMV do not have to be safety inspected, unless you drive the vehicle regularly. New automobiles purchased in Virginia are also exempt from safety inspections for one year.
How long does VA state inspection take?
Allow at least 30 minutes for your vehicle inspection. Inspections are performed on a first-come, first-served basis. Other customers might have dropped off their vehicle earlier that day; inspections will be done in the order that each vehicle arrives for the day.
Can you get pulled over for expired inspection sticker in Va?
What is the Penalty for an Expired Inspection Sticker in Virginia? Failure to have your motor vehicle inspected is a traffic infraction and is penalized as a Class 3 misdemeanor. However, the court has the discretion to dismiss the charge and may do so if the offense has been remedied prior to the court hearing.
How long can you drive with expired inspection sticker VA?
Can You Get Pulled Over for an Expired Inspection Sticker in Virginia? Virginia Code §46.2-1157 states that “[n]o law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired vehicle inspection sticker until the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date.”
Is there a grace period for expired tags in Virginia 2022?
Virginia Car Registration Renewal Grace Period
There is a $10 late fee for expired registrations. You can renew your registration for up to 90 days after the expiration date. If you are within 15 days before or up to 90 days after the expiration date, be sure to print a receipt.
How long can you drive with an expired inspection sticker in Va?
What vehicles are exempt from inspection in VA?
The following shall be exempt from inspection as required by § 46.2-1157:
- Four-wheel vehicles weighing less than 500 pounds and having less than 6 horsepower;
- Boat, utility, or travel trailers that are not equipped with brakes;
What happens if you fail VA state inspection?
What is the fine for expired inspection in VA?
Any person violating this article shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor for the first offense and fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 for each subsequent offense except as otherwise provided in this article.
Can you get pulled over for an expired inspection sticker in Virginia?
How long can you drive on expired tags in VA?
Police officers are not allowed to pull you over for the sole purpose of an expired registration until four months after they expire. Still, there are plenty of ways that you can get in trouble for driving with expired tags. Because of this, you should look to renew them as soon as possible.
How much is the fine for an expired inspection sticker in Virginia?
How old does a car have to be to be exempt from emissions in VA?
25 years old or older
Vehicles 25 years old or older qualify as antique motor vehicles but are not required to display antique license plates to qualify for the emissions exemption.
Can I get pulled over for expired inspection in VA?
Can you be pulled over for expired inspection in Virginia?
An expired inspection or registration sticker can only get you pulled; however, it has to be at least four months late.
Does a 20 year old car need emissions in VA?
Vehicles 25 years old or older qualify as antique motor vehicles but are not required to display antique license plates to qualify for the emissions exemption. Although exempt from the emissions inspection, the $2 emissions fee is required when renewing these registrations.