Who won Nascar 2006?

Who won Nascar 2006?

Jimmie Johnson
Jimmie Johnson, the 2006 Nextel Cup Series champion. This was the first of his five consecutive titles. Matt Kenseth finished second behind Johnson by 56 points. Denny Hamlin finished third in the championship and also won Rookie of the Year.

Who is good on dirt in Nascar?

NASCAR Driver Averages at Dirt Tracks

Driver Avg Rating
1 Joey Logano 122.4
2 Tyler Reddick 111.1
3 Ryan Newman 104.8
4 Ryan Blaney 95.2

Did Jeff Gordon ever race on dirt?

Gordon discovered midget car racing through Thursday Night Thunder, a television program that premiered on ESPN in 1988. At the time, he was primarily competing on dirt tracks in winged sprint car racing, which did not have a national television broadcast.

Who Won 2006 Daytona 500?

The 48th running of the event, it was held on February 19, 2006, in Daytona Beach, Florida, at Daytona International Speedway before a crowd of 200,000 spectators. Hendrick Motorsports driver Jimmie Johnson won the 203-lap race starting from the ninth position.

Who drives the 06 in NASCAR?

Ryan Newman
The No. 6 car has a rich legacy in NASCAR, and Ross Chastain adds his name to the list of all-time drivers this weekend when he subs for Ryan Newman at Las Vegas.

Who won the NASCAR championship in 2007?

NASCAR Cup Series Champions

Year No. Champion
2007 48 Jimmie Johnson
2006 48 Jimmie Johnson
2005 20 Tony Stewart
2004 97 Kurt Busch

What NASCAR drivers have raced on dirt tracks?

Logano is the only active driver with a NASCAR Cup Series win on dirt, making him an immediate favorite for the second race at Bristol Dirt.

How many NASCAR drivers have raced on dirt?

Seventy-six different drivers won on dirt, with Lee Petty holding the all-time record of 42 wins. The top eight drivers on the above list are members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. In 1955 and 1956 NASCAR held 40 premier series events on dirt, the most of any seasons.

Who won the Daytona 500 in 2005?

Jeff Gordon
The 2005 Daytona 500, the 47th running of the event, was held on February 20, 2005 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida as the first race of the 2005 NASCAR Nextel Cup season. Dale Jarrett won the pole and Jeff Gordon won the race, making this his third Daytona 500 win.

Who drove the number 6 Pfizer car?

Mark Martin
Martin at the 2007 Daytona 500
Born Mark Anthony Martin January 9, 1959 Batesville, Arkansas

Who won the 2005 NASCAR championship?

Tony Stewart
NASCAR Cup Series Champions

Year No. Champion
2005 20 Tony Stewart
2004 97 Kurt Busch
2003 17 Matt Kenseth
2002 20 Tony Stewart

Who has NASCAR dirt track experience?

NEXT IN LINE: Austin Dillon, Kyle Busch, Alex Bowman, Ty Dillon. RISING: When it comes to current Cup drivers with dirt racing experience, Justin Haley’s name might not stand compared to some others. But the No. 31 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet won the third qualifying heat and was sporty in practice.

What NASCAR drivers came from dirt track?

Other drivers with significant dirt experience: Austin Dillon, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ty Dillon and Justin Allgaier.

What NASCAR drivers started on a dirt track?

Many of the Sprint Cup series greats—Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, and Kasey Kahne to name a few—”grew up” and became premier racers on a dirt track in their own home towns.

Did Dale Earnhardt drive dirty?

While Dale Earnhardt is known to many as the dirtiest driver of all time, Richard Petty disagrees, naming someone he feels was even tougher to race, Earnhardt’s father Ralph. “You think Dale Earnhardt is tough, you should have raced against his daddy,” Petty said about the elder Earnhardt according to onedirt.com.

Who won the Daytona 500 in 2008?

Ryan Newman won the race, his only win in the 2008 season and his final win for team owner Roger Penske.

What happened in the NASCAR Cup Series in 2006?

Additionally, 2006 was the first Cup Series season since 1979 without Rusty Wallace and 1974 without Ricky Rudd, although Rudd made one appearance in relief and would return for one final year in 2007 before retiring. It was also the last season before Toyota joins the NASCAR Cup Series as a manufacturer.

Who won the pole at Dover race in 2006?

The thirteenth race of the season, the Neighborhood Excellence 400 presented by Bank of America, was held at Dover International Speedway on June 4, 2006. Ryan Newman won the pole for this race. Failed to qualify: Carl Long (No. 34), Donnie Neuenberger (No. 52), Chad Chaffin (No. 61), and Stanton Barrett (No. 95).

What NASCAR drivers failed to qualify for the 2006 Crown Royal?

Failed to qualify: Morgan Shepherd (No. 89), Stanton Barrett (No. 95), Mike Wallace (No. 09), Chad Blount (No. 92), Brent Sherman (No. 49), Kenny Wallace (No. 78) The Crown Royal 400, NASCAR’s tenth race of the season was held at Richmond International Raceway on May 6, 2006. Greg Biffle won the pole.

Related Post