What is FSAP IMF?

What is FSAP IMF?

The Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP) is a joint program of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. Launched in 1999 in the wake of the Asian financial crisis, the program brings together Bank and Fund expertise to help countries reduce the likelihood and severity of financial sector crises.

What does FSAP stand for?


Acronym Definition
FSAP Financial Sector Assessment Program (IMF and World Bank assessment of a country’s financial system)
FSAP Financial Services Action Plan (European Commission)
FSAP Faculty and Staff Assistance Program (various universities)

How often does the IMF meet?

They are usually held for two consecutive years at the IMF and WBG headquarters in Washington, DC, and every third year in another member country. The 2017 meetings will take place in Washington, DC. The 2018 Annual Meetings will take place in Nusa Dua, in Bali, Indonesia, in October.

What is Sector Assessment?

The Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP) is a comprehensive and in-depth analysis of a country’s financial sector. It is a crucial part of the Fund’s financial surveillance and an input to the Article IV consultations.

Is FSAP mandatory?

Assessments of compliance with international financial sector standards (summarized in a Report on Observance of Standards and Codes or ROSC) are voluntary for the country, even in countries for which an FSAP stability assessment is a mandatory part of surveillance.

How do you assess financial stability?

A common measure of stability at the level of individual institutions is the z-score. It explicitly compares buffers (capitalization and returns) with risk (volatility of returns) to measure a bank’s solvency risk.

What law created the Central Bank of the Philippines?

Republic Act No. 7653
Ramos signed into law Republic Act No. 7653, the New Central Bank Act, on 14 June 1993. The law provides for the establishment of an independent monetary authority to be known as the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, with the maintenance of price stability explicitly stated as its primary objective.

What are the 3 main areas or pillars of central banking?

This video talks about the role of the BSP in the economy through its three pillars of central banking: price stability, financial stability, and efficient payments and settlements system.

What is bank z score?

Z-score compares a bank’s buffers (capitalization and returns) with the volatility of those returns. It captures the probability of default of a country’s banking system, calculated as a weighted average of the z-scores of a country’s individual banks (the weights are based on the individual banks’ total assets).

Is India a member of G-15?

African G-15 nations are Algeria, Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, and Zimbabwe. Those from Asia are India, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, and Sri Lanka. Latin American G-15 nations include Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

Who owns Central Bank of the Philippines?

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

BSP Logo
Headquarters BSP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Philippines
Established July 3, 1993 (re-established as per the New Central Bank Act) January 3, 1949 (as Central Bank of the Philippines)
Ownership Independent to Government /Sui Generis
Governor Benjamin Diokno

What are the 3 pillars of central banking?

What is the 3rd pillar of the central bank?

The three golden stars represent the three pillars of central banking (price stability, stable banking system, and a safe and efficient payments and settlements system), as well as the BSP’s commitment to promote and sustain a high quality of life for all Filipinos, across Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

When did the IMF make FSAP mandatory?

In September 2010, the IMF made it mandatory for 25 jurisdictions with systemically important financial sectors to undergo assessments under the FSAP every five years. The list of jurisdictions for these mandatory assessments was based on the size and interconnectedness of their financial sectors.

What is the FSAP and why is it important?

The FSAP is a key instrument of the Fund’s surveillance and provides important inputs to bilateral surveillance in the context of Article IV consultation.

How do you assess the development aspects of fsaps?

To assess development aspects, FSAPs examine institutions, markets, infrastructure, and their inclusiveness; the quality of the legal framework and of payments and settlements systems; obstacles to competitiveness and efficiency; progress in financial inclusion; and access to retail payment digital technology.

Related Post